Posts

San Antonio Accident Attorney: Laws that Protect the Victims of Reckless Driving Accident

,

In the event you’re not given the funds you deserve, a San Antonio accident attorney can help ensure that these laws are enforced and that you’re awarded what’s rightfully yours. Getting hit by another vehicle, and dealing with individuals and/or insurance companies on your own, may make you feel helpless. Fortunately, there are a number of laws in place to protect you and your rights after you’ve been hurt in an accident. These laws ensure you’re compensated for your injuries, your property damage, and more.
Just a few of the laws that protect you in the event of an accident include:

Tort Laws

Tort laws help protect victims when they’ve been injured at the hands of another. This injury could be physical or, in some cases, it may also be some sort of financial or emotional loss. With tort law, the injury varies from case to case. Regardless, tort law entitles victims to compensation for the losses they have suffered.

Altogether, tort law can help compensate victims for:

  • Personal injury, including pain, suffering, associated medical bills, rehabilitative costs, and future expected costs.
  • Property damage, including car repairs, lost or stolen property, and fees for rental vehicles while cars are being repaired.
  • Death, and it is typically paid to the victim’s spouse or surviving dependents.
  • Emotional or mental pain, suffering, and anguish.
  • Punitive damages, if the at-fault party was particularly negligent or reckless.

There are a number of types of incidents that can lead to a tort claim, including medical malpractice, wrongful death, premises liability, libel, and personal injury. Each of these has a different statute of limitations, or timeframe within which the victim must file suit. In Texas, the statute of limitations for personal injury (as in a car accident) is two years from the date of the incident, which means if you’re hurt in a wreck, the law gives you the right to file suit within the next 24 months.

Insurance Minimums

Many states now have a car insurance minimum law on the books. This forces every driver on state roads to have a certain amount of liability insurance in their name. This liability insurance is used to cover medical costs, car repairs, and rental car fees in the event the driver causes a wreck. If drivers fail to have the adequate amount of insurance when pulled over or involved in a wreck, they can face steep fines or even jail time. Additionally, a San Antonio accident attorney could help ensure that they are charged for their negligence.

In Texas, car insurance minimums are $30,000 for each injured person (up to $60,000 per accident) and $25,000 for property damage. That means if you’re involved in a wreck, you’re due up to $30,000 for your associated medical bills and injury costs, as well as up to $25,000 for damage done to your car and other property

Bad Faith Insurance Laws

Bad faith laws protect you in the event your insurance doesn’t provide you with the coverage you need at the time you need it. If you’re hurt in an accident, and you’ve paid your car insurance premiums on time, you should be able to receive the coverage agreed upon in your policy. In fact, your policy is a legally binding contract. If you uphold your end of the bargain, the insurance company is required to hold up theirs. If they don’t, your San Antonio accident attorney could help you file a claim so you can get the coverage and compensation you rightfully deserve.

Were you hurt in a car accident? These laws and more protect your rights as a victim. Contact a San Antonio accident attorney at the Law Offices of Pat Maloney today to ensure your rights are recognized and you’re given the compensation you deserve.